search icon
Sauvage
Piat-Joseph Sauvage (1744-1818)

Exceptional Large Rectangular Plaque in Hard-Paste Porcelain with Painted Trompe-l’œil Decoration Imitating Bronze

“The Offering to Minerva”

Plaque001-01_HD_PRESSE copie (1)

Dihl et Guérhard Manufacture, known as the Manufactory of the Duke d’Angoulême

Paris, late 18th century, 1797-1798

Signed and dated: Sauvage in.f. (invenit fecit) Manufre Guerhard & Dihl an 6

Dimension without frame :
Height34 cm Width84 cm

Provenance:

– Patureau collection (sold Paris, April 7, 1834, lot 37): “Sauvage (signed), Guerard and Dhill manufactory. Two pictures in the form of a frieze, representing a sacrifice to Minerva, and children at play. These two unique articles merit the full attention of connoisseurs.

-sold Paris, Maître Delestre, Hôtel Drouot, November 15, 1886, lot 31: “Two large rectangular plaques in porcelain from Guerhard and Dihl, decorated with subjects simulating bas-reliefs in bronze painted by Sauvage, representing an offering to Minerva and children’s games”.

– Hector Le Fuel collection, by descent.

 

Exhibition:

Probably the bas-relief imitation bronze painted on porcelain for the Dihl and Guérhard Manufactory, known as “the factory of the Duke d’Angoulême”, listed under the number 362 at the Salon of 1 thermidor year VI (July 19, 1798) at the Museum Central des Arts (today the Musée du Louvre).

 

This hard-paste porcelain plaque, very large in size, features a rectangular composition with magnificent trompe-l’œil decoration imitating a low-relief bronze plaque in shades of gold and brown on a white ground, meant to accentuate the impression of perspective and the volume of the figures. The scene is presented as a classical frieze with the statue of Minerva in the center; she is sitting on an altar that is decorated with a ribbon tied torus and several putti. The goddess, shown in profile, is dressed in Roman-style garb; she wears a helmet surmounted by a sphinx and holds a lance in her right hand and a laurel wreath in the other. She is an allegory of Wisdom, Peace, and the Arts. On the ground, which runs the entire length of the picture, are a wicker basket full of flowers, a few roses, a ewer whose belly is adorned with spiral fluting, a brasero with arabesque feet, and children. On either side of the figure there are nymphs, children, and putti in various positions, who are worshipping the goddess. From left to right, one putto is playing a hunting horn, a nymph is offering a flower bouquet to the statue, and a second kneeling putto is placing a vase with applied handles at the statue’s foot. A child is holding aloft a tray of fruits, while, opposite, a putto who is looking toward the viewer holds a bouquet of flowers, a nymph holds a rose in her right hand, while with her left hand she holds the hand of a child with a dove. Another nymph is playing the lyre, while behind her a putto is bending under the weight of a heavy urn it bears on its head. The picture is set in a sculpted and gilt wood frame featuring a frieze of stylized leaves and beadwork; the scene is further adorned with a waterleaf frieze.

This plaque, which is unusually large and is exceptional for the quality of its execution, may be considered one of the masterpieces of the Parisian decorative arts of its time. It also represents the height of the technical, esthetic, and decorative achievements of French manufactories. Beginning in the first half of the 18th century, they sought to compete with their German rivals, and particularly the Meissen factory. The plaque is an excellent example of the collaboration between the painter Piat-Joseph Sauvage, one of the finest artists of his time, and the Dihl and Guérhard Manufactory, which was one of the most famous and innovative of French porcelain manufactories during the period. This association of talents was responsible for some of the most beautiful painted porcelain plaques created in Paris in the final years of the 18th century and the early years of the 19th century. We know of two plaques, made by Dihl and Guérhard and signed Sauvage, that depict Minerva giving a “lesson of folly” and Venus giving a “lesson of wisdom”; they were shown at the Salon of 1800 and today are in the Musée des Beaux-Arts of Tournai. There is also a third plaque that is quite large, though slightly smaller than the present plaque, and is decorated with scenes of putti at play. It was presented at the 1797 Exhibition of the Products of Industry and is today in the Musées Royaux d’Art et d’Histoire in Brussels (see C. Froissart and J. Whitehead, “Le peintre Piat-Joseph Sauvage et la porcelain”, in Les Cahiers de Mairemont, 32-33, 2005, p. 35-39).

As concerns the present plaque specifically, it appears to have been presented by the Dihl and Guérhard Manufactory at the Salon of 1 thermidor of the year VI (July 1798) held at the Muséum Central des Arts. Among several high-quality painted porcelain plaques, there was one that represented a bas-relief imitating bronze, painted by Sauvage (n° 362, fig. 3). Though the plaque was mentioned only briefly with few details given, according to the description it may well be the present plaque, which was subsequently in the Patureau collection in April 1834, and was then offered at an anonymous sale at the Hôtel Drouot in November 1886. It eventually became part of the Hector Lefuel collection and was preserved by his descendants. At the time of the two sales in Paris, in 1834 and 1886, the plaque which formed its pendant depicted “children’s games”, and it is possible that the plaque now in Brussels, which is similar in size, may have been the pendant to the present plaque, and that the two were associated during the first few decades of the 19th century. This hypothesis seems to be corroborated by the fact that the two sales catalogues do not mention them as a pair but refer to them as “two paintings” and “two large plaques”.

Piat-Joseph Sauvage (1744 - 1818)

Was a Belgian painter, member of the Académie Royale in 1781, who became famous for his trompe-l’œil works imitating sculpture. In the 1780s, he participated in the decoration of the interiors of the royal châteaux of Rambouillet and Versailles, creating paintings on several different media, and using materials such as marble, ivory, and porcelain, and taking his inspiration from Greek and Roman antiquity and the classical vocabulary. As of 1797, he began to work with the Parisian Manufactory of Dihl and Guérhard, known as the “factory of the Duke d’Angoulême”, for in 1781 that aristocrat became its patron. He entrusted the direction of the factory to Christophe Erasmus Dihl and the Guérhard couple, who turned the factory into the main rival of the Sèvres Manufactory. The works produced by the factory with the participation of the painter Sauvage, were shown at prestigious exhibitions. Today the extant plaques made by them are extremely rare and generally to be found in prestigious French and international museums.



In the same category

search icon
Sauvage
Piat-Joseph Sauvage (1744-1818)

Exceptionnelle grande plaque rectangulaire dite « l’Offrande à Minerve » en porcelaine dure à décor peint en trompe-l’œil à l’imitation du bronze

Plaque001-01_HD_PRESSE copie (1)

Manufacture Dihl et Guérhard dite Manufacture du duc d’Angoulême

Paris, fin du XVIIIe siècle, 1797-1798

Signée et datée : Sauvage in.f. (invenit fecit) Manufre Guerhard & Dihl an 6

Dimension hors cadre :
Hauteur34 cm Largeur84 cm

Provenance :

-collection Patureau (vente à Paris, le 7 avril 1834, lot 37) : « Sauvage (signés), manufacture Guerard et Dhill. Deux tableaux forme frise, représentant un sacrifice à Minerve, et des jeux d’enfants. Ces deux articles, uniques dans leur genre, méritent de fixer l’attention des amateurs ».

-vente à Paris, Maître Delestre, Hôtel Drouot, le 15 novembre 1886, lot 31 : « Deux grandes plaques rectangulaires en porcelaine de Guerhard et Dihl, décorées de sujets simulant des bas-reliefs en bronze peints par Sauvage, et représentant une offrande à Minerve et des jeux d’enfants ».

-Collection Hector Le Fuel, par descendance.

 

Exposition :

Probablement le bas-relief imitant le bronze peint sur porcelaine pour la Manufacture Dihl et Guérhard, dite « du duc d’Angoulême », présenté sous le numéro 362 au Salon du 1er thermidor an VI (19 juillet 1798) au Museum central des Arts (actuel Musée du Louvre).

 

Cette plaque en porcelaine dure, de dimensions exceptionnelles, présente une composition rectangulaire proposant un superbe décor en trompe-l’œil réalisé à l’imitation d’un bas-relief en bronze aux tonalités brun-or se détachant sur un fond blanc destiné à accentuer l’impression de perspective et de volume des figures. La scène se présente sous la forme d’un bandeau en frise « à l’antique » figurant au centre la statue de Minerve assise sur un autel ceinturé d’un tore enrubanné et rythmé d’une ronde de putti ; la déesse, représentée de profil, vêtue « à la romaine » et portant son casque sommé d’un sphinx, tient une lance de sa main droite et une couronne de lauriers dans l’autre main, elle est l’Allégorie de la Sagesse, de la Paix et des Arts. Sur un sol simulé, dans la longueur de l’œuvre, sont posés une corbeille de vannerie remplie de fleurs, quelques tiges de roses, une aiguière à panse à cannelures torses et un brasero à piétement en arabesques et enfants. De part et d’autre de la figure, sont des personnages de nymphes, enfants ou putti dans diverses attitudes célébrant la déesse ; de gauche à droite, un premier putto joue du cor de chasse, une nymphe tend un bouquet fleuri vers la statue, une deuxième, agenouillée, dépose un vase à anses détachés au pied du monument, tandis qu’un enfant élève un plateau rempli de fruits ; à l’opposé, un putto, regardant vers le spectateur, tient une gerbe, une nymphe tient de la main droite une branche de roses, tandis que de la gauche elle tient la main d’un enfant tenant une colombe, une dernière nymphe joue de la lyre et, dernière elle, un putto se courbe sous la poids de la lourde urne qu’il porte sur sa tête. L’ensemble est présenté dans un cadre en bois sculpté et doré à frises de feuilles stylisées et perles en enfilage, la vue soulignée de feuilles d’eau.

De dimensions hors-du-commun et d’une exceptionnelle qualité de réalisation, cette plaque peut être considérée comme l’un des chefs-d’œuvre des arts décoratifs parisiens du temps et comme le parfait aboutissement des recherches techniques, esthétiques et décoratives entreprises par les manufactures françaises dès la première moitié du XVIIIe siècle afin de concurrencer les manufactures germaniques, particulièrement celle de Meissen. Elle est surtout représentative de la collaboration du peintre Piat-Joseph Sauvage, l’un des meilleurs artistes de son temps, et de la Manufacture Dihl et Guérhard, l’une des manufactures parisiennes de porcelaine les plus renommées et les plus innovantes de son époque. Cette association est à l’origine de quelques-unes des plus belles plaques de porcelaine peinte réalisées à Paris dans les dernières années du XVIIIe siècle ou dans les toutes premières années du siècle suivant ; ainsi, nous connaissons notamment deux plaques, sorties de chez Dihl et Guérhard et signées Sauvage, qui représentent en pendant une figure de Minerve donnant une leçon de folie et une Vénus donnant une leçon de sagesse ; elles furent exposées au Salon de 1800 et appartiennent de nos jours aux collections du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Tournai ; ainsi qu’une troisième plaque de grandes dimensions, toutefois légèrement inférieures à celles de la plaque que nous proposons, à décor de jeux d’amours qui correspond à celle présentée à l’Exposition des Produits de l’Industrie de 1797 et qui fait partie aujourd’hui des collections des Musées royaux d’Art et d’Histoire à Bruxelles (voir C. Froissart et J. Whitehead, « Le peintre Piat-Joseph Sauvage et la porcelaine », dans Les Cahiers de Mairemont, 32-33, 2005, p.35-39).

Concernant plus particulièrement la plaque proposée, elle semble correspondre à celle qui fut présentée par la Manufacture Dihl et Guérhard au Salon du 1er thermidor de l’an VI (juillet 1798) au Muséum central des Arts. Ainsi, parmi plusieurs tableaux de belle qualité peints sur porcelaine, se trouvait une plaque figurant un bas-relief imitant le bronze par Sauvage (n°362, fig.3). Cette mention, quoique brève et imprécise, peut très certainement correspondre à la plaque que nous proposons qui figura par la suite dans la collection Patureau en avril 1834, puis dans une vente anonyme à l’Hôtel Drouot en novembre 1886, enfin, elle fit partie de la collection Hector Lefuel et fut conservée par sa descendance. Enfin, relevons, qu’à l’époque des deux ventes parisiennes de 1834 et 1886, la plaque avec laquelle elle était présentée en pendant figurait « des jeux d’enfants » ; nous pouvons alors supposer que la plaque conservée à Bruxelles et de dimensions proches ait pu être associée à la plaque proposée dans les premières décennies du XIXe siècle ; cette hypothèse semble être corroborée par le fait que les deux catalogues de vente ne les mentionnaient pas en tant que paire mais en tant que « deux tableaux » et « deux grandes plaques ».

Piat-Joseph Sauvage (1744 - 1818)

Piat-Joseph Sauvage, peintre belge, membre de l’Académie Royale en 1781 et célèbre pour ses œuvres dans la technique du trompe-l’œil imitant la sculpture. Dans les années 1780, il travaille sur la décoration d’intérieurs pour les châteaux royaux de Rambouillet et de Versailles et réalise ses peintures décoratives sur différents supports, utilisant en particulier des matériaux tels que le marbre, l’ivoire ou la porcelaine et puisant plus ou moins directement dans le répertoire néoclassique lié à l’Antiquité grecque et romaine. A partir de 1797, il commence à collaborer avec la Manufacture parisienne de porcelaine Dihl et Guérhard dite « du duc d’Angoulême » car patronnée dès 1781 par ce grand aristocrate qui confia par la suite la direction à deux groupes d’associés : Christophe Erasimus Dihl et les époux Guérhard, qui firent de cette entreprise la principale rivale de la Manufacture de Sèvres. Les œuvres issues de cette collaboration entre cette manufacture et Sauvage sont alors présentées dans des expositions prestigieuses et, de nos jours, les plaques conservées nées de cette association sont excessivement rares et appartiennent le plus souvent à de grands musées français et internationaux.



Dans la même catégorie