search icon
Robin  -  Dubuisson  -  Schwerdfeger
Robert Robin (1741-1799)
Dubuisson (1731-1815)
Ferdinand Schwerdfeger (1734-1818)

Exceptional Mantel or Desk Clock

“Regulator with Remontoir d’Egalité” 

0031_05577_PENDUL

The Case Attributed to the Cabinetmaker Jean-Ferdinand-Joseph Schwerdfeger

Paris, Directory-Consulate period, circa 1795

Height44 Width24.5 Depth19.5

Provenance:

– Probably the clock that was estimated at 500 francs in 1830 in the study of the well-known porcelain manufacturer Christophe Dihl (1752-1830): “A regulator by Robin à Paris, with seconds and date, compensation balance with thermometer, in a glazed mahogany case”.

 

The enamel dial, signed “Robin”, also bears the mark “dub”, which is that of Etienne Gobin, known as Dubuisson (1731-1815), a celebrated Parisian enameler who was a contemporary and rival of Joseph Coteau. It indicates the Roman numeral hours, the minutes graduations, the seconds, and the annual calendar, with indication of the date and the months of the year, as well as the equation of time, which shows the difference between true time and mean time. Its remarkable movement with complications has a Graham escapement and a constant force remontoir d’égalité, a bimetallic gridiron pendulum with a pyrometer that bears information on the temperature of dilation of metal, and two weights for the going train. The mahogany or mahogany-veneered architectural case has a slightly protruding cornice and is glazed on all sides, which allows the remarkable and complex movement to be viewed. The clock is elegantly adorned with finely chased matte-gilded bronze mounts. The entablature of the cornice is decorated with a molding chased with water leaves and adorned with an egg-and-dart frieze. The glazed panels are framed by twisted cord and stylized leaf friezes. The top spandrels feature scrolls and vine leaves, and a magnificent fringed drapery and leafy garland highlight the curve of the dial. The molded protruding base is adorned with a frieze of parsley leaves. The clock is raised upon four quadrangular gilt bronze feet.

In addition to its highly precise movement with complications and its excellent craftsmanship, the present clock is noteworthy for its polished mahogany architectural case, whose sober design was intended to showcase the ingenious and extraordinary mechanism, as well as the beauty of the dial. One particular cabinetmaker specialized in creating such cases toward the end of the 18th century: Ferdinand Schwerdfeger (1734-1818). Schwerdfeger was mentioned several times as “Ferdinand” in several early 19th century auctions. Upon the death of his wife in 1803, his workshop was described as containing almost exclusively mahogany clock cases. It was Schwerdfeger who made the case for the geographic clock that Antide Janvier presented in 1791 to King Louis XVI, which is today in the Musée national du château de Fontainebleau (illustrated in M. Hayard, Antide Janvier 1751-1835, Horloger des étoiles, p. 1995, p. 79). It was very likely the same cabinetmaker – who also made luxury furniture for pour Marie-Antoinette – who was entrusted with the creation of the case of the present clock, whose design is particularly remarkable. Today only a few comparable clocks are known to exist. One example, signed Lepaute, whose design is less elegant, was delivered in 1804; it was intended for the bedchamber of Napoleon at Fontainebleau Palace (illustrated in J-P. Samoyault, Pendules et bronzes d’ameublement entrés sous le Premier Empire, Paris, 1989, p. 73). A second clock, signed “Robin”, is illustrated in Tardy, La pendule française, 2ème partie: du Louis XVI à nos jours, Paris, 1975, p. 325.

Robert Robin (1741 - 1799)

Having become a master horologist in November 1767, he was one of the most important Parisian horologists of the last third of the 18th century. He received the honorary titles of Valet de Chambre-Horloger Ordinaire du Roi et de la Reine in 1783 and 1786. He enjoyed an extraordinary career, distinguishing himself by his exceptional contribution toward the improvement of time measuring instruments.

In 1778, the Academy of Sciences approved two of his inventions, one of which led to the construction of an astronomic clock with a meridian traced on a pyramid, which was acquired by the Menus Plaisirs for Louis XVI that same year; Robin published a very detailed historical and mechanical description of that clock. He also made mantel regulators with astronomic indications and compensation balance, of which the Marquis de Courtanvaux, a man of science and a great connoisseur of precision horology, was one of the earliest acquirers. During the Revolution he made decimal watches and clocks. He worked in the Grande rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré (1772), the rue des Fossés-Saint-Germain l’Auxerrois (1775), the rue Saint-Honoré in the l’Hôtel d’Aligre (1778) and the Galeries du Louvre in 1786.

For his desk regulators, Robin chose very sober architectural cases, which look extraordinarily modern to contemporary viewers. He always worked with the finest artisans of the day, including the bronziers and chasers Robert and Jean Baptiste Osmond, Pierre Philippe Thomire, François Rémond and Claude Galle, the cabinetmakers Jean-Henri Riesener, Ferdinand Schwerdfeger and Adam Weisweiler, the enamellers Barbezat, Dubuisson, Merlet and Coteau for the dials, and Richard and Montginot for the springs.

Robert Robin’s two sons, Nicolas Robert (1775-1812) and Jean-Joseph (1781-1856), were also fine clockmakers and ably continued to run their father’s workshop.



Dubuisson (1731 - 1815)

Étienne Gobin, known as Dubuisson, was one of the best enamellers working in Paris during the latter part of the 18th century and the early 19th century. During the mid 1750’s he was employed at Sèvres, then opened his own workshop, being recorded in the 1790’s in the rue de la Huchette and, circa 1812, in the rue de la Calandre. Specializing in enamelled watch cases and clock dials, he is known for his great skill and attention to detail.



Ferdinand Schwerdfeger (1734 - 1818)

Ferdinand Schwerdfeger is one of the most important Parisian cabinetmakers of the late 18th century. After becoming a master in May 1786, he opened a workshop in Paris and quickly gained a following. His work, however, remains little known due to his becoming a master shortly before the Revolution, and to the fact that he rarely stamped his work. Among the pieces that may be attributed to him with certitude, one should mention an ensemble delivered to Marie-Antoinette, as well as several regulator and clock cases for some of the finest horologists of the day, including Antide Janvier, Jean-Simon Bourdier and Robert Robin (see M-A Paulin, Schwerdfeger, ébéniste de Marie-Antoinette, in L’Estampille/L’Objet d’art, October 2003).



In the same category

search icon
Robin  -  Dubuisson  -  Schwerdfeger
Robert Robin (1741-1799)
Dubuisson (1731-1815)
Ferdinand Schwerdfeger (1734-1818)

Exceptionnelle pendule de cheminée ou de bureau dite « régulateur à remontoir d’égalité »

0031_05577_PENDUL

Dans une caisse attribuée à l’ébéniste Jean-Ferdinand-Joseph Schwerdfeger

Paris, époque Directoire-Consulat, vers 1795

Hauteur44 Largeur24.5 Profondeur19.5

Provenance :

– Probablement l’horloge prisée 500 francs en 1830 dans le cabinet du célèbre manufacturier de porcelaine Christophe Dihl (1752-1830) : « Un régulateur du nom de Robin à Paris à secondes et à quantièmes, balancier et compensateur et à thermomètre, dans sa gaine d’acajou en glaces ».

 

Le cadran émaillé, signé « Robin », porte également la marque « dub » pour Etienne Gobin, dit Dubuisson (1731-1815), célèbre émailleur parisien, confrère et principal concurrent de Joseph Coteau. Il marque les heures en chiffres romains, les graduations des minutes, les secondes, le calendrier annuel avec indications des quantièmes et des mois de l’année, et l’équation du temps, marquant la différence entre le Temps vrai et le Temps moyen. Son mouvement à complications perfectionné, à échappement Graham et à remontoir d’égalité dit « à force constante », est actionné par un balancier à gril bimétallique oscillant muni d’un pyromètre portant les informations de la dilatation des métaux et par deux poids-moteurs. Il est inscrit dans une caisse architecturée en forme de borne « à l’antique » à corniche légèrement débordante réalisée en acajou ou en placage d’acajou et ornée de panneaux de glace sur ses faces et son recouvrement destinés à visualiser la complexité et le perfectionnement du mécanisme. L’ensemble est élégamment agrémenté d’un décor de bronze très finement ciselé et doré à l’or mat : l’entablement de la corniche est ceinturé d’une moulure ciselée de feuilles d’eau et ornée d’une frise alternée d’oves et de dards ; les panneaux de glace sont encadrés de baguettes torsadées et de frises de feuilles stylisées ; les équerres en écoinçons sont ornées de rinceaux de pampres de vigne ; enfin, une superbe draperie tombante à franges et guirlande feuillagée souligne l’arrondi du cadran. Le tout repose sur une base à ressaut à cavet foncé d’une frise de feuilles de persil supportée par quatre pieds quadrangulaires en bronze doré.

Excepté son mouvement à complications d’une grande précision et d’une superbe facture, cette pendule présente la particularité d’être enchâssée dans une caisse d’architecture en acajou poli, dont la composition, volontairement dépouillée, est destinée à mettre en valeur l’ingéniosité et le perfectionnement du mécanisme et la beauté du cadran. Vers la fin du XVIIIe siècle, un ébéniste s’était spécialisé dans la création de ce type de caisses : Ferdinand Schwerdfeger (1734-1818), mentionné « Ferdinand » dans de nombreuses ventes aux enchères du début du XIXe siècle et dont l’atelier, au décès de sa femme en 1803, était décrit comme comprenant quasi-exclusivement des caisses de pendules en acajou. C’est notamment Schwerdfeger qui confectionna la caisse de la pendule géographique qu’Antide Janvier présenta en 1791 au roi Louis XVI et qui appartient de nos jours aux collections du musée national du château de Fontainebleau (illustrée dans M. Hayard, Antide Janvier 1751-1835, Horloger des étoiles, p.1995, p.79) et, c’est de toute évidence, ce même ébéniste, auteur de certains meubles luxueux pour Marie-Antoinette, qui fut chargé de la réalisation de la caisse de la pendule que nous proposons, qui est d’un modèle particulièrement abouti et peu commun. En effet, les exemplaires répertoriés réalisés dans le même esprit sont excessivement rares, citons particulièrement une première pendule, signée Lepaute et de composition moins élégante, qui fut livrée en 1804 pour la chambre à coucher de Napoléon au Palais de Fontainebleau (illustrée dans J-P. Samoyault, Pendules et bronzes d’ameublement entrés sous le Premier Empire, Paris, 1989, p.73) ; ainsi qu’une seconde, signée « Robin », qui est reproduite dans Tardy, La pendule française, 2ème partie : Du Louis XVI à nos jours, Paris, 1975, p.325.

Robert Robin (1741 - 1799)

Robert Robin est l’un des plus importants horlogers parisiens du dernier tiers du XVIIIe siècle. Honoré des titres de Valet de Chambre-Horloger Ordinaire du Roi et de la Reine en 1783 et 1786, il eut une carrière hors du commun et se distingua par sa contribution exceptionnelle à l’amélioration des instruments de la mesure du temps.

En 1778, l’Académie des Sciences approuva deux de ses inventions, dont l’une mena à la construction d’une pendule astronomique représentant une méridienne tracée sur une pyramide qui fut acquise par les Menus Plaisirs pour Louis XVI cette même année ; Robin publia une Description historique et mécanique très détaillée de cette pendule. Il créa également des régulateurs de cheminée à indications astronomiques et à balancier compensé, dont le marquis de Courtanvaux, homme de science et grand connaisseur d’horlogerie de précision, fut l’un des premiers acquéreurs. Au cours des troubles révolutionnaires, il réalisa des montres et des pendules à heure décimale. On le retrouve successivement Grande rue du faubourg Saint-Honoré (1772), rue des Fossés-Saint-Germain l’Auxerrois (1775), rue Saint-Honoré à l’Hôtel d’Aligre (1778) et aux Galeries du Louvre en 1786.

Pour ses régulateurs de bureau, Robin fit le choix de boîtes architecturées d’une grande sobriété, qui nous paraissent aujourd’hui d’une remarquable modernité. Il collabora toujours avec les meilleurs artisans de son temps, parmi lesquels les bronziers ou ciseleurs Robert et Jean Baptiste Osmond, Pierre Philippe Thomire, François Rémond et Claude Galle, les ébénistes Jean-Henri Riesener, Ferdinand Schwerdfeger et Adam Weisweiler, les émailleurs Barbezat, Dubuisson, Merlet et Coteau pour les cadrans, et les Richard et Montginot pour les ressorts.

Les deux fils de Robert Robin, Nicolas Robert (1775-1812) et Jean-Joseph (1781-1856), étaient également d’excellents horlogers et poursuivirent brillamment l’activité de l’atelier paternel.



Dubuisson (1731 - 1815)

Étienne Gobin, dit Dubuisson, est l’un des meilleurs émailleurs parisiens de la fin du XVIIIème siècle et le début du XIXème. Vers le milieu des années 1750 il travaille à la manufacture de Sèvres, établissant par la suite son propre atelier. Il est mentionné dans les années 1790 dans la rue de la Huchette et vers 1812, dans la rue de la Calandre. Spécialisé dans les boîtes de montres et cadrans émaillées, il est réputé pour son habileté exceptionnelle et la représentation de détails.



Ferdinand Schwerdfeger (1734 - 1818)

Ferdinand Schwerdfeger figure parmi les plus importants ébénistes parisiens de la fin du XVIIIe siècle. Après son accession à la maîtrise, en mai 1786, il installe son atelier dans la capitale et connaît immédiatement une grande notoriété. Cependant, son œuvre demeure relativement méconnue ; dû à sa date de maîtrise tardive et au fait que l’artisan estampilla peu. Parmi les quelques meubles qui peuvent lui être attribués avec certitude, mentionnons un ensemble livré pour Marie-Antoinette, ainsi que quelques caisses de régulateurs et de pendules dont les cadrans sont signés par les plus grands horlogers de l’époque, particulièrement Antide Janvier, Jean-Simon Bourdier et Robert Robin (voir M-A Paulin, Schwerdfeger, ébéniste de Marie-Antoinette, in L’Estampille/L’Objet d’art, octobre 2003).



Dans la même catégorie